A Negro’s Spiritual, Unmastered

Woke up overworked and started on my way

Laid down my burdens down by the riverside

Strectched myself deep and wide

like a fountain’s flow

 

I’ve broken my yoke

Unfastened my chains

Go tell it

Waking fires dance down in my soul

We have made ourselves free

Waking fires dance down in my soul

We have made ourselves free

Victory is ours

 

Stony the road ahead

Feet shod in the gospel of peace

Walk with me O God

That’s good enough for me

 

 

 

 Overworked

Leave a Reply

